PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS

Go Back   PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS >
Engine Tech
> Grape Vine - General Discussion
User Name
Password

Grape Vine - General Discussion Shop Talk - Bench Racing, No political or religious topics are allowed.

Poll: Which would YOU buy?
Poll Options
Which would YOU buy?

sponser links

Old 10-08-08, 09:05PM   #1
Speargun
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!

Arrow Looking for a new welder. MIG or TIG?

I'm in the "what do i want" stage of picking out a new welder and am looking for some input.

First, a little background info on me.
I have been welding since around 1983 and did it for a living for 3 years around '89 - '92. During that 3 years I welded many different thicknesses of material at all angles. I became certified, 6GR I think, (aluminum - all positions) during that time as well as getting certified mil-spec to weld on the govt. CFR's. (Crash Fire Rescue. The big airport firetrucks.)
I worked at E-ONE, a firetruck manufacturer, and welded pretty much the entire cab portion of the truck for those 3 years so I have the experience with a MIG and aluminum & don't think I will have any trouble picking it back up.

I'm kinda undecided on if I want to go with a TIG or MIG.
The MIG is easy to use and costs less.
The TIG can do a bit more, i.e. thinner material, has a better looking weld, but is slower & costs more.
Like everything in life, $$$ matters so I want to invest in something that is going to last me.

I've looked at two different units so far; both Miller.
1) Millermatic® 180 with Auto-Set™

2) Diversion® 165

Both are lower cost units aimed at the home user. Although I would like a little better unit, the next step up is about another $1000 or so and out of my reach right now.

I can pick up the MIG for around $800 & the TIG for about $1500.

My questions ARE aimed at those of you that have a TIG;
Is it worth the extra money?
If you could only choose 1 for most home/shop type work, which would it be?