PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS
 

Go Back   PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS >
Engine Tech
> Engine Buildups in progress
User Name
Password

Engine Buildups in progress Tell us what your latest project is, and post a few pics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-17, 07:01PM   #61
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

Or even the 60244 cam, has a little more duration.
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-17, 09:03PM   #62
Dragncar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mcinleyville CA
Posts: 519
Default

My cam is a little big. It would be in the .585 lift range and .245 @ .050. Its single pattern.
I say high 11s with E heads.
Dragncar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-17, 02:32AM   #63
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

I thought the 455 @ .60 over was a 469 CI. not 462 CI. I thought that the 455 @ .30 was the 462 CI ? Any way I was just kind of guessing what the power level would be at 500 HP with this combo , so if I'm off I don't really mind but I know that when this combo was in my car at .30 with the 455 I had plenty of TQ so I guess I don't need any more in that area, but would like to have the same amount of power as before but with a little bit better idle quality because even with that combo before if I were trying to run in 4th gear under 35 mph it wanted to buck a bit & in the 400 .60 over combo now if I run under 30-35 mph it doesn't like it much & wants to buck a bit even even with the 3:73 rear gears. I don't know if I'm asking for to much but this is what I'd like to do. I can live with the slight bucking in 4th gear if I have to as I like the amount of power I get even in the 400 .60 over combo. The 400 is all the same parts that will be going in the 455 + .60 over. Right now the E-heads are on the 400 with the RA IV cam & all the other parts that I have stated that will be going in the 455. Also what brand is the 60243 cam. You didn't say who makes this one ? Let me know Please. GACH how big or what is the spec's on the 60244 cam ? I try to get on at least every 2 days but I would like to be able to be on here every day, but my schedule is a bit tight right now as I put on a car show cruise ion every Wed. & we only have 2 Wed's left & every body & their brother is calling to get info for the last few shows which take up a bunch of my time & with all the extra planning for these last 2 shows I need to focus on these last few right now so forgive me if I don't answer right away. Anyway thanks for any & all the help you guys are giving me. Thanks Rex.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-17, 03:42AM   #64
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

My mistake, 30 over is 462. It's a Crower cam, I'll look up the spec's and post them for you.
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-17, 03:49AM   #65
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

60244 cam spec's

Performance level 4 - Ultra-Performance Compu-Pro - The following grinds are best suited for dual purpose hot street/drag strip situations. These cams exhibit strong mid-range and top end torque and horsepower. Headers, dual exhaust, larger cfm carburetor, performance ignition and 11:1 compression are a must. Cylinder head modifications would be beneficial. Use with standard transmission or automatic with high stall converter. Low gearing a must.
INT/EXH - Dur @ .050 Lift: 239/241 RR: 1.5/1.5 Gross Lift: .500/.500 LSA: 112 RPM: 2000-2200 to 6200 Redline: 6500

60243 cam spec's


Performance level 3-4 - High Performance Compu-Pro - Intended for the performance oriented hot street application. These cams offer an extended rpm range with emphasis on upper bottom to top end power (strong mid-range). Performance gears, headers, dual exhaust, larger than stock cfm carburetor, performance manifold and increased compression (9.5:1 to 10.5:1) are required. Works well with automatic transmission if matched with proper ring and pinion gears and/or high stall converter.
INT/EXH - Dur @ .050 Lift: 228/235 RR: 1.5/1.5 Gross Lift: .479/.494 LSA: 112 RPM: 1600-1800 to 6200 Redline: 6500
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-17, 07:52AM   #66
Steve C
Verified User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: .
Posts: 973
Default

Do note the Lunati 07702 in post #57 is a single pattern cam.

In the opinion of many the Crower 60919 is so close to being a 041 clone that it's characteristics would be similar.

Since crower cams are being mentioned here, and not necessarily a recommendation, but if it helps for a general comparison my engine builder used a Crower 60211 hyd flat tappet (236/242) cam w/1.6 rockers in 4.250 stroke combo using 87cc Edelbrock heads, cleaned up only no port work to speak of, 10.3 compression. It used a Performer RPM intake, Holley vacuum secondary 750 carb and 1-7/8 headers. On the engine dyno it made 513-518 hp at 5200/5300 rpm.


.
Steve C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-17, 04:23PM   #67
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

Actually Steve I like the Crower 60211 better but is says rough idel. I've used in in a couple of builds for friends. One guy with a 400 ran 12.00's. It's on a 108 which tends to have a rougher ideal compared to a 112 or 110. It's definitely a good cam though.
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-17, 05:22PM   #68
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

It's been a bit since my last post as my sand blaster gave out , well I mean my compressor gave out . The motor burnt up & i need to blast some parts before they go on. I always blast the hard parts before I paint them & right now I have to wait to get enough money to buy a new motor for it so I can continue. I need about $ 250.00 for a new motor & for me that means I may be done for this year. Being on a fixed income really sucks. My bills come before the toys. After i get a new motor I can proceed. But to get that amount of money will take a while. But unless I find a way to get the money I won't get it done this year.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-17, 03:12AM   #69
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

Yeah it sucks, but you'll get there
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-17, 03:07PM   #70
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

Slowly but yes I think I'll get it done as I don't like it just sitting there with no progress. I'll try to clean some of the parts by hand with a wire wheel so at least it looks like I'm getting something done.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-17, 08:06PM   #71
Mb125
Registered User
 
Mb125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 4,004
Default

You should check around what someone would charge to sand blast a bunch of parts. Around here guys charge $25-$100 depending on how many parts and how big.
Could be cheaper than new motor for your compressor.
__________________
D port them all
Mb125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-17, 07:24PM   #72
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

I do know there are guys around here to do just that , but I'll be out the money towards a new motor & still won't have a sand blaster when i need it as I blast a lot of stuff. I keep all my stuff ready to bolt right on & that requires a sand blaster so i'll just have to wait.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-17, 01:37AM   #73
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

I haven't worked since 2004 & I think I may be going back into the work force. I'm going to an interview tomorrow for a part time job. I hope I still know how to work,, LOL. With all the bills I've got I have to go back to work. I thought I could enjoy retirement but prices & utilities keep going up faster then the little bit I get for SS. The raises we get ,,,,, sometimes ,,,,, & you guys who are on SS like me know that the raises we get are a joke. The last raise I got was a whopping $ 11.00 & change. That didn't even make the raise worth it after they raised the price for medicare. They give in one hand & take back twice as much in the other hand. It is a joke. But if I want to keep my house & car & keep the lights & heat on I now after 13 years of retirement I have to go back to work. But I'll do it because I just to damn stubborn to let them win. Maybe at least I can get the engine I started put together the rest of the way, & then get it in the car. Then maybe i'll even have some time to drive my car before the end.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-17, 01:38AM   #74
Gach
Administrator
 
Gach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ....
Posts: 17,758
Default

I feel your pain, thought I invested well in a good retirement plan.
__________________
The things they hide, the way they spin things, the excuses that they make and the things they omit.
Gach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-17, 03:24PM   #75
rexs73gto
rexs73gto
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Niles MI. 49120
Posts: 226
Default

Well I didn't think I'd have to do this but after 14 years of retirement I have gone back to work ,,, part time to be able to finish my engine. I'll work for about 5-6 months until I get to the amount I can make with my SS & then I'll be able to rest for about 5-6 months until I can go back & start over again. But with this I'll get it do at least & have some extra money to pay the gas bill this winter too. I have a lot of the stuff already to put it back together but don't want to take the engine out & not be able to drive it until I can put the new one right back in.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4liter Whipple pontiac build bondobird Forced Induction 16 11-17-13 12:50AM
pontiac 4 cyl-SD build Micro Engine Tech Discussion - Street or Strip 3 04-25-12 11:50AM
1963 Catalina build marks73ta Member's Projects in progress 64 03-12-11 08:58PM
Im bored, so I want to do another turbo build DocsTA " TURBO BUILDS " 68 01-06-10 01:04AM
New 400 build Bob Rutledge Engine Tech Discussion - Street or Strip 10 01-19-07 04:45AM


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 01:39PM.

Featured Ads
Ken's Speed & Machine
Mayhem Turbocharging

Carter Cryogenics.  What can we freeze for you?

Pacific Performance Racing

Central Virginia Machine Service.  Home of the Injun Engine!

All Pontiac Engine Kits

Larry's Auto Machine.  Full serivce auto, marine machine shop, domestic and foreign.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2001 - 2007 PontiacZone.com
Page generated in 0.11613 seconds with 14 queries