PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS

Go Back   PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS >
Engine Tech
> Edelbrock Heads
User Name
Password

Edelbrock Heads Edelbrock head owners can give there opinions along with their track results this includes Wide Ports

sponser links

Old 11-02-16, 03:48AM   #1
rexs73gto
rexs73gto

Default Which valves ??

I need to know which valves I will need to use when I get me heads to the shop & open them up for the 1:77 exhaust valves. I want to know which one you guys would use & have used when you open the exhaust. I should have done this when I 1st got them but being new I though I'd not need to. Also I have been running these round port E-heads for about 3 years & they have been great, but I to would like to know why & if I can make the exhaust side round instead of the D-port shape they are at present. I have to run round port exhaust manifolds so why not have them opened up to take advantage of the complete round port design?? Has any one done this to them & had good luck.?? When I bought the heads I called Eldo. & asked if I could open them up & they said no, but if there designed after the RA IV heads why can't they also look like them & then act like them. I would only seem reasonable that it should work that way. BUT ????? Help.
rexs73gto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-16, 10:06AM   #2
Pontiac Dude
Engine Builder

Because after raising the floor the 1.66 E-head valve flows better then the factory iron headed 1.77.
Chevy did that wayyyyyyyyyyyy back in the 70's with their aluminum Bowtie heads. It's nothing new except to Pontiac people. LOL>
I run Ferrea valves in all my upgrades in 35 years. The only way to go, but recommend using a 1.73, that way u can increase the intake side for more flow.
The K.I.S.S. method
Thnik of it like this. Take a big pile of paper and shove it thru a big intake hole then try and shove it thru the exh side. Won't go or take to long.