> EFI Tech and Tuning Info
User Name
Password

EFI Tech and Tuning Info This section for the traditional Pontiac V8

sponser links

Old 01-08-10, 06:49PM   #1
SDMAN

Default crank trigger

We are sending my ATI dampener back to get their built in magnet ring put on it. I have no experience with crank triggers on anything, and it occurs to me that the placement of the magnets (in degrees) is likely important. Do I need to spec this or is it pretty much the same for any crank trigger setup?

I will be using a FAST XF-I EFI computer, coil on plug setup with a cam position sensor built into the oil pump drive.
SDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-10, 07:53PM   #2
Gach
Administrator

What kind of Crank Tiger did you get ? I have the MSD Tiger, and already has the placement of magnets ( in degrees ) on the wheel that bolts to the balancer. It's real easy to set up to. They make a real nice set up for
Pontiac's
Old 01-08-10, 11:07PM   #3
tiacguy

Can I ask whos oil pump drive. I cant find one for a Pontiac with a cam sensor. Im looking to do this also. Thanks for the help Scott.
tiacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-10, 03:08AM   #4
Pontiac Jack
M/T Hemi Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMAN View Post
... Do I need to spec this...
Only if you're very limited in selecting a location for the pickup. If there's any spot around the balancer that allows you 90 degrees of freedom for pickup placement, then orientation of the magnet wheel won't matter (magnet every 90 degrees).