PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS

PONTIAC ZONE TECH FORUMS (http://www.pontiaczone.com/forum/index.php)
-   Paint and Body Q&A (http://www.pontiaczone.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=487)
-   -   Can this be tubbed? (http://www.pontiaczone.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23253)

edreimer 01-01-09 08:13AM

Can this be tubbed?

3 Attachment(s)
I am building a '76 Ventura for drag racing only. I started rebuilding the wheelhouses(rust) and noticed the unibody frame very close to the inner side of the wheelhouse. can this frame be cut into or do i need to weld in new frame members first. Is this one reason i dont see this year at the track? What are my options? I want to install a narrowed axle housing. Will the four link suspension crossmembers stiffen the chassis up enough to allow cutting into the stock frame? Im new to this and i really want to learn. Im not looking for an easy answer just the right one for what i want to build.Thanx for the help.

hp400dave 01-04-09 12:00AM

1 Attachment(s)
If you want a 4 link, the rails, trunk and floor pans under the rear seat will need to come out. I am assuming that you want to do a square tube car. If so the rails will need to be 2"x3" and sweep up high with the 4 link brackets under them, at least that's the strongest way to do it. Have you considered a ladder bar instead? That is a little easier to do for a first timer and should work well. You can replace your factory sheet metal frame rails with 2"x3" frame rails. Make them start at the front sub frame and pass through the rear foot wells in the floor pan, which gets welded for strength, then follow under the floor, up over the axle, but keep them straight and narrower than stock and head through the trunk pan and connect to the rear valance area.

hp400dave 01-04-09 12:04AM

1 Attachment(s)
Then you gain 5-6" in tire room. Now you can position your ladder bar cross member in between the new rails.

hp400dave 01-04-09 12:10AM